web analytics

8 Types Of Fish You Should Avoid and Eat in Moderation

Fish is one of the healthiest foods you should incorporate in your diet. Fish contains healthy fat that can do wonders for your health. On the other hand, not all types of fish are good for you and there are certain types you should definitely avoid.

Here are the 8 types of fish you should avoid:

1. Seabass

This type of fish contains mercury. Mercury is harmful to your nervous system and that’s why you should avoid it. Do not consume more than 200gr of seabass, and more than 100gr for kids.

2. Pangasius

This fish originates in the Mekong River in Vietnam, which is one of the most contaminated rivers. It contains nitrofurazone and polyphosphates, which are high-level cancer causing compounds. Do not eat this type of fish!

3. Eel

The European eel has high levels of mercury and the American eel has the highest level of contamination. Do not consume more than 300 gr, and not more than 200gr for kids.

4. Tilapia

Tilapia is not healthy for people with asthma, heart diseases and arthritis since it doesn’t contain food fats. Tilapia can make your body more sensitive to allergens and can raise your cholesterol levels.

5. Tilefish

This type of fish contains the highest mercury content and can sometimes cause food poisoning. This fish is not recommended for children and women. Men should not consume more than 100gr of it.

6. Mackerel

Mackerel should be avoided because it contains very high levels of mercury. On the other hand, the Atlantic mackerel is the least harmful and can be consumed. Do not consume more than 200gr a month a month, and not more than 100gr for kids.

7. Imported catfish

Catfish are fed with hormones and should be avoided.

8. Tuna

Tuna doesn’t normally occur in freshwater and they are bred in farms. They’re given hormones and antibiotics that are not healthy for humans. Tuna is not recommended for kids and adults.