Did you know that in Florida, it is illegal to drive with a pet on your lap? Or that you can’t honk your horn at a pedestrian? These are just a few of the exciting driving laws that are specific to Florida. If you’re planning on driving in the Sunshine State, you must be aware of these laws so that you don’t get pulled over or ticketed. This article will discuss six of the most interesting driving directions in Florida.
In Florida, all drivers must have personal injury protection (PIP) insurance. This type of insurance covers medical expenses and lost wages regardless of who is at fault in an accident. You may also need to hire an attorney to help with further action after the injury. Check out this personal injury attorney in Tampa.
So, what are some of these unique driving laws in Florida? For starters, did you know that driving with a pet on your lap is illegal? This may seem like a common sense law, but you’d be surprised how many people try to do it. If caught driving with a pet on your lap, you could face a $30 fine.
Other pet driving laws include not being able to transport an animal in the bed of a pick-up truck unless it is adequately secured and not being allowed to leave a dog in a parked car for more than 15 minutes if the weather is hot.
Another exciting law is that you can’t honk your horn at a pedestrian. This one is surprising, and it’s something that you need to be aware of if you’re driving in Florida. If you honk your horn at a pedestrian, you could be fined up to $500.
Have you ever been driving and had someone flash their headlights at you? In Florida, it’s actually against the law to do this. If caught flashing your headlights, you could be fined up to $60.
Florida law for headlights also includes only being allowed to have your headlights on for 30 minutes after sunset and not being able to drive with your high beams unless you’re more than 500 feet away from another car.
We’ve all been there – we’re driving along, and we see a police officer on the side of the road. It is against the law in Florida to wave at a police officer while driving. If you’re caught doing this, you could be fined $60. Other waving laws include not being allowed to wave at oncoming traffic and not being allowed to wave at a person driving a tractor-trailer.
Lastly, Florida has a strict law when it comes to texting and driving. It is illegal to text and drives in the state of Florida. You could be fined $30 for your first offense if you’re caught doing this. Also, you may receive points on your driver’s license if you’re caught texting and driving.
The drivers’ license point system for Florida is as follows:
- 12 points in 12 months – Your license will be suspended for 30 days.
- 18 points in 18 months – Your request will be suspended for three months.
- 24 points in 36 months – Your request will be suspended for one year.
As you can see, a few unique driving laws are specific to Florida. If you’re planning on driving in the state, it’s essential to be aware of these laws so that you don’t get pulled over or ticketed. And if you do, it’s important to know where to seek additional help and assistance. Check out a personal injury attorney in Tampa with further questions if an incident occurs.